Soft Machine on Toppermost

My latest post on the Toppermost music website is now available. Ten top Soft Machine tracks.

Soft Machine developed from psychedelic popsters playing at the UFO and Middle Earth clubs to appearing as the first rock band at the BBC Proms.

The original lineup of Soft Machine, formed in 1966, was Robert Wyatt (drums, vocals), Kevin Ayers (bass, guitar, vocals), Daevid Allen (guitar), Mike Ratledge (organ).

This lineup recorded the single “Love Makes Sweet Music” which got some airplay but otherwise didn’t bother the charts.They had become involved in the early underground scene based around the UFO club in London, as did Pink Floyd, though they never gained the popularity of Floyd.


Read more over at Soft Machine | Toppermost.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s