Crackle and pop: The Beatles – Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band

20120317-103908

In 1967 this was the first album I purchased after saving up my pocket money for weeks. It was from David Evans department store in Cwmbran New Town centre. It’s in mono as I only had a very basic old record player at the time that wasn’t stereo compatible. Even today the stereo mix doesn’t sound quite right to me and has – apparently – numerous differences to the mono mix I have.

I loved this album and played it to death. I have the original “The Fool” designed sleeve but not the cutouts, which I cut out and subsequently lost.

I first heard the album on a Saturday afternoon special on the BBC. On hearing “Good Morning, Good Morning” a friend commented that they had now gone “too far out”!

20120317-103918

20120317-103942

20120317-104001

Leave a Reply

