January books

I’m going to try to keep a record of what I read this year. I often think back and can’t remember, so this should act as a reading diary for me. The Woolf is part of my participation in the year long #woolfalong.

Virginia Woolf – Mrs Dalloway

A hallucinatory, dream like dissection of one day.

iu

Becky Chambers – The long way to a small, angry planet

Excellent new SF author.

iu-2

Bill Bryson – Notes from a small country

Re read this for the pure pleasure of Bryson’s prose.

iu-3

Mollie Panter-Downes – One fine day

I’d read and enjoyed her wartime short stories and this is her novel of post war life in Britain seen through the prism of one couples day.

iu

Mark Diacono – The New Kitchen Garden

I was in need of some gardening inspiration and this beautifully produced, yet practical book really hits the spot.

New-Kitchen-Garden

Owen Sheers – Skirrid Hill

I enjoyed his novel “Resistance” set in the Black Mountains of South Wales and this poetry collection is also rooted in landscape and relationships.

skirrid_hill-188x300

 

One thought on “January books

Leave a Reply

