crackle and pop: this is h.p. lovecraft vol II

20151101-11045920151101-110529

This, originally released in 1968, came out on some cheap Phillips label in the UK, apparently also in 1968 according to the record label I’ve got. I think I bought it sometime in 1969 or 1970 after I’d heard a few tracks on Peel so I gave it a go.

It’s a trippy album now acknowledged as a psych pop classic, utilising sounds in a similar fashion to The United States of America with many songs based on the writings of the horror/fantasy author H.P. Lovecraft. There’s a live album I haven’t got which I will have to track down (Live May 11, 1968).

 

One thought on “crackle and pop: this is h.p. lovecraft vol II

Leave a Reply

