April books

Most of April was taken up with reading books for the 1938 club. Posts on these books can be found here and here. Outside of the club I had a visit to my childhood and read some Enid Blyton.

TheIslandOfAdventure

It’s an enjoyable romp, spoiled by the terrible racism in the portrayal of the character “Jo-Jo”.

I’m continuing my reading of all Colm Tóibín’s novels and “The Heather Blazing” was my latest read.

40813

It’s the story of a judge and events in his past echoing into the present day. I found it darker than other of his novels I’ve read, but still very enjoyable.

One thought on “April books

  1. It is a shame about the racism in Blyton, though I still prefer to read the older versions rather than the sanitised new ones. In “The Secret Island”, the action is precipitated by a nasty aunt slapping one of the girls so they all run away – in the modern one she just shouts, which is daft!

    Like

Leave a Reply

