Moving from iOS to Android: a switchers tale

I had wanted a new phone for over a year as I was struggling on with an old iPhone 4. However having recently retired and being on a low income I couldn’t justify or afford a new iPhone, so I began to look at Android phones. They needed to be fairly cheap and contract free, and I eventually settled on a Motorola Moto G (3rd gen) for around £150. This offered a significant upgrade on my old iPhone 4 with the advantage of a 32gb SD slot.

However at home we are all Apple, iPad and Macbook Pro so I was very concerned how this was going to work out. Surprisingly easy as it turned out as most of my standard must have iOS apps are cross-platform and have Android versions.

1Password, Evernote, Dropbox, ViewRanger, Pocketcasts, Up, MyFitness Pal, Spotify, Instapaper, Wunderlist, TuneIn Radio.

The Digital Trends article HOW TO SWITCH FROM IOS TO ANDROID WITHOUT MISSING A BEAT was great helping in tracking down other options.

Email was easy to set up in Gmail as you can add an iCloud account and Calendar syncing in Google is easy with SmoothSync for iCloud.

I have a Feedbin account for RSS feeds and use Reeder on my Mac and iPad and Press on Android.

Photos are covered with Lightroom Android app and Google Photos and generally Google has iOS Apps for all it’s services, so again that’s all very easy.

So what caused me the most hassle?

Music! How was I to get music off my MacBook and onto my phone. I looked at and tested two options, DoubleTwist and iSyncr. For reasons I can’t work out, DoubleTwist would not sync to my SD card and iSyncr does so that’s the app I went with. It will only sync Playlists, but that’s not a big deal for me as I only want a selection of music on my phone and I constantly delete and add items and for playback I use Rocket Player.

A few months on and I’m really pleased I made the move. I’m using my phone more and I’m not really missing iOS, as I still use it everyday on my iPad. So for anyone like me for whom even the new iPhone SE is too expensive, but you want to upgrade, then swap over to Android, it’s a lot easier than we might imagine. A final recommendation is to subscribe and listen to the Material podcast, – a weekly discussion about the Google and Android universe, it’s provided this Android newbie with a host of information and recommendations.

 

 

One thought on “Moving from iOS to Android: a switchers tale

  1. Welcome to the other side datz…

    Why settle for 10% exclusive when you can have 90% inclusive…which is apple v android for me.

    I do everything including all my photography on my samsung mega.
    Movies music games books camera internet spreadsheets radio pictures diary … all things digital.

    And the range of free apps is endless.

    The only downside is the possibility of turning into a smartphone zombie and walking into an oncoming train…

    Like

Leave a Reply

